New Music

Melodownz Reveals Two Sides In New Video

Ginelle C
Melodownz - Peace $igns, Gang $igns (Official)

Melodownz reveals the struggle between the two sides of his personality in the effects-laden video for Peace $igns Gang $igns, released today.

"The video is actually my meditation trance," Melodownz says.
"Peace $igns Gang $igns showcases the battle between my dualities. What we've been able to do with the video is illustrate the good and the bad, the light and the dark, and at the end of the video I realise that both sides are actually me."

"I hope that people understand that humans are multi-faceted and there's constantly an inter-play between our internal good wolf and bad wolf like in the old Cherokee saying - we showcase this concept quite heavily in the music video."

The Fight of Two Wolves Within You

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life: “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy. ”It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil–he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you–and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather:

“Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

The video was directed and edited by Jordan Cherrington with VFX by 10Daniel16 and Connor Pritchard and made with support from NZ on Air.
Peace $igns Gang $igns is available now on iTunes, Apple Music and Spotify.

It is the first single from the forthcoming double EP MELO & BLUES, to be be released on 23 November by MELODOWNZ's own label Liightside and distributed by DRM. MELO & BLUES features Kiwi artists including Louis Baker, Troy Kingi and Villette and UK rapper COOPS. Production credits include Christoph El Truento and Mikos Da Gawd.

MELO & BLUES track listing


1. Get Money (intro) Feat. Louis Baker (Prod. Ed Waaka)

2. Peace $igns, Gang $igns (Prod. Don Hudson)

3. $moke Feat. Villette (Prod. Frank Keys)

4. Infinite Feat. Coops (Prod. Dusty Melody)

5. Wiiild (Prod. Haan 808, Mikos Da Gawd (US) and Baccyard)


6. Kava and Herbs feat. Israel Starr (Prod. Israel Starr)

7. Loyal (Prod. Baccyard)

8.Natural (Prod. Ivan productions)

9. Abundance Feat. Troy Kingi (Prod. MELODOWNZ, Christoph El Truento)

10. Melo and Blues (Outro) (Prod. Lapis)

Written By: Ginelle C