New Music

Into The Ether With Lunarin

Reuben Raj

After a 6-year hiatus, Lunarin released a 3-track EP titled Into the Ether. Moving away from their previous DIY ethos, the band enlisted renowned producer David Bottrill to mix and engaged Grammy winning mastering engineer Adam Ayan to master the project.

24052 378191812967 7898568 n

Clocking at over 23 minutes, the EP is a return to the band’s heavy, progressive roots and a response to the rising intolerance and cynicism in society that is threatening the core of human decency today. Few would have expected the band to return. Busy with day jobs and struggling in their roles as parents, there would have been no reason for the trio, consisting of Linda Ong (bass, vocals), Ho Kah Wye (guitars) and Loo Eng Teck (drums, vocals), to release new material again, if not for the fact that the music has been bleeding, festering and growing for the last 6 years before finally breaking free.

It was not a peaceful hiatus.

Humanity's rapid descent has given rise to a grieving process that few people can comprehend. These songs are a collection of that grief. From the raw blistering anger and betrayal in Rage, the heartbreaking resignation of death and lost in Bruises to the apocalyptic destruction in The Flood, these songs are intended to be a testament to power - power when it has been denied, abused, lost and when it must be regained.

Lunarin is a 3-piece alternative rock band hailing from Singapore. Consisting of Linda Ong, Ho Kah Wye and Loo Eng Teck, the trio were friends since 1993. They started a 4-piece band called Fuzzbox in 1995 before exploring a darker progressive sound as Lunarin in 2003.

The band was highly prolific in the Singapore gig scene in the 2000s, playing numerous shows and gaining a reputation in the underground for their tight and intense live shows. The trio have been compared to heavy acts such as Tool, A Perfect Circle and Soundgarden while their softer sound has been attributed to Linda Ong’s deep affinity to female singer-songwriters such as Faye Wong, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey.

The trio released their debut album the Chrysalis in 2006, a 2-track EP called Little Pieces in 2008, their second full-length album Duae in 2010, and an acoustic album named The Midas Sessions in 2012.

Friends of the band know that the trio have always had difficulty focusing on music due to their day jobs and families – Loo and Ong are trained lawyers and Ho is an engineer by profession – and this proved true when the band went on hiatus in 2012 due to Ong’s pregnancy. This break extended when drummer Loo Eng Teck went on to have 2 children as well.

The band returned in 2018 with new EP titled Into the Ether. Consisting of songs written during the 5 years when they were on hiatus and recorded when Ong was pregnant with her second child, Into the Ether was recorded by the band in Singapore, mixed by acclaimed music producer David Bottrill and mastered by Grammy winning mastering engineer Adam Ayan. The band collaborated with Singapore’s Clare Lee on this release, who created the accompanying artwork for the songs.

EP Cover2

The EP is available on all digital platforms, including iTunes, Spotify and Bandcamp.


Click here to stream or buy
Released: 15 Oct 2018

Written By: Reuben Raj Reuben is a film and digital photographer who is driven by music in his head. Often seen lurking behind a camera inside the pit of a concert or wandering the streets of China with a blond, Reuben harbours intimate feelings for vinyl records and his Hasselblad SW/C from 1965. He is also the founder of Radio 13.